Ghost Mariner’s Compass Motif

It’s Tuesday!  Time for another tip……finally!  It has been good to have some time away from this, but I am also glad to be back!

Today I will show you how I marked the Motif for a Mariner’s Compass in the corners of Anna Pilcher’s Quilt!


1. First I drew out half a Mariner’s Compass on cardstock….the squiggly lines are where I was going to quilt a fill, till I changed my mind…


2. I pinned the cardstock to the quilt, matching centers of the Motif to the piecing….

3. I marked the outside edges of the pattern onto the fabric with Fon’s and Porter White marking pencil…

4. I punched a hole in the cardstock pattern so I could mark a dot where lines in the middle of the pattern needed to go, and marked them with a pencil….

.

5. Then I drew the interior lines of the design.  I forgot to take a picture, but you can tell from step 6 picture….

6. Next I placed a cut out of one more point onto the already marked Motif and added it.  I cut it out of the big template to make it easier to mark the rest…..



7.  Quilt as desired!!  ðŸ˜œðŸ˜œðŸ˜œðŸ˜œðŸ˜œ


LOL!  ðŸ˜œ Could not resist….you can see from the photo how I quilted it….

Till next Tuesday (hopefully I am on that roll) have a great week! 😍

Leave a Reply

