Marking a Large Curve!Β 

It’s Tuesday!  Time for another tip! 

Today will be the last one till Mid June.  I am off on a holiday with my girlfriends! 🦁  πŸ΅πŸ―πŸ›©When  I get back I have several business events and business trips.  Without time to longarm I have no source of pictures or topics for my blog.  To be quite truthful I am also in need of a break.  Time to take care of me, physically and mentally.  If I find something to blog about in that time, I will surprise you! 

Today tough, I want to show you how I figured out how to mark the design I did in this large light triangle of Theresa’s Amazon Star (a Quiltworx pattern).


So I came up with the idea using my favourite drawing app, You Doodle! But implementing the idea is another story!

My favourite rulers are my The Quilted Pinapple rulers both the straight and the curved.  I never put them away, they always hang right behind me on my slot wall!


Linda from The Quilted Pinapple had just released new larger curved templates, 30″, 34″ and 36″!!!(The 3 on the farthest right of the photo below) πŸ˜πŸ˜„πŸ˜ŽBut alas I had not yet ordered any!  Any my current ones were too small….πŸ˜°πŸ™„πŸ™ˆ 🀒 So what is a girl too do?  Why call her hubby, a former math teacher of course! 😻

So Roger quickly came up with a plan.

1. First he had me trace the shape and make a paper template.


2. Then he found a thin piece of metal, a metal yardstick in this case.  Now he bent the yardstick to fit the space!


3. While he held the yardstick I traced the curve it made onto my template. Then I folded the template in half so I could trace the curve to the other side, so the curves matched. 


4. Then I traced this off onto cardstock so it was stiffer, and then I cut away the arcs. I did not think to make the stuffer template until after these pictures were taken….😬

5. Now I had a template I could use to mark all my triangles with!  



6. My next challenge was to follow this line!  So I used a trick I have shown before, used my too small ruler, pivoting it as I went to match the curve I had marked….πŸ™„πŸ™πŸ‘Š I nailed it, but it did take perseverance!  

So when I was almost done, Three units to go, my new rulers arrived in the mail!  Oh so much easier!!!!! πŸ˜πŸ˜ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ

That’s it for awhile!  Unless I find time to write one more before I go.  I am behind on blogging about finished quilts, so you may see some of those.

Bye for now, but I will be back! πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

Leave a Reply

