Marking Triangles in Multi-sized Spaces Without Math!

It’s Tuesday!  Time for another tip! And another video over on Y-tube!

I am going to show you how I marked double triangles inside triangles that keep changing size!  Here is a picture of a quilt from the pattern Amazon Star from Quiltworx, pieced by my customer Theresa Shirley!

The part I am talking about is the dark triangles on the outside edge.  They range in size from 4″ to 18″. So how was I going to mark them quickly and without a lot of math, cause you know my saying, time is money….. πŸ’° πŸ€‘

So out came one of my favourite tools!  The Simplex gauge!  One of my most used tools! Our store carries this tool, we are out at the moment, but if you want one, place an on-line order and we will get it to you as soon as possible! https://qfth.ca/products/simflex-expanding-sewing-gage


I want to mark three equal segments in each triangle.  So I use four pointers on the gauge and stretch it so one pointer is on the point of a triangle, two are dividing the space evenly and the other pointer is on the bottom edge of the triangle!  Eassssssy! πŸ€— As I work around the border and the size of those dark triangles keeps changing, sodoes my equal spacing!!! πŸ’ƒ πŸ’ƒ πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ


Here I used a Clover marking pencil to mark my divisions.


These triangles overlap each other, so I want to make the stitching look like it disappears behind the previous triangle. So I mark where the triangle would be if it is not overlapped by another.  This makes it easier to find the right place to stitch my design.

 

So to stitch out the design, start at the corner …

Stitch to the top mark made earlier.


Pivot and stitch down to the bottom.  This is where I line up my ruler 1/4″ from the marks I made showing where the triangles overlap. 


Now I pivot again and stitch to lower mark.


Pivot again and stitch back to start point.


Ditch across to the next triangle.


Close up of overlapping detail.


Several finished units….


Now I used my Sew Clean too get out my pencil marks.  Love this stuff, takes out anything I have tried, including a lot laundry stains!
Click here For a video over on Y-Tube that goes through this whole process!
That’s it for  today! Back to my machine.  Starting a new quilt today…..oh the possibilities!!! πŸ˜πŸ™ŠπŸ€”πŸ‘©β€πŸŽ¨πŸ‘€β€οΈβ€οΈβ€οΈ So happy I love my job so much…..

3 responses to “Marking Triangles in Multi-sized Spaces Without Math!

  1. What a neat little tool you have! I tried to google “Simplex Gauge”, but only found something entirely different. Could you please share where you found such an item?

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

