Keeping your Marking Square

It’s Tuesday! Time for another tip!

When I was writing the title for this blog, I almost wrote a whole paragraph!  It could have been, How Three People Can Mark a Large Complex Gridwork and Keep it Square And Square with the Piecing Without Crying !!! 🀒 Sounded about as complicated as I first made this process…… Here is a little background on the story….

A few days before I left for QuiltCon I loaded this quilt of my own to quilt..

Yes this is a pattern, available at our store! https://qfth.myshopify.com/products/dazzle-pattern

I really had no overall plan,  I just started.  Before I left I had the border quilted and a little work around the dragonfly head!


Then I stood and stared and went blank.  Decided I was too excited for QuiltCon and packed her in.

Fast forward….I returned home from QuiltCon inspired and my mind buzzing.  I sat down to my favourite app, You Doodle, and started drawing a plan.  Here is my plan, changed only a little since I drew this out….

Now I needed to mark out the grid work.  I was not thinking real well (I call it jet lag, but my daughter Kathleen did not have jet lag….) so I started trying to mark the grid work with the quilt still loaded on the frame, trying to save time I think?! 😜 what a disaster!  I drew with water soluble pen, used water to erase, drew again, erased, drew again and finally decided the quilt had to come off!!! 😳

So,off it came, pushed some tables together in our stores classroom, laid it out and started trying to mark, again…..erased, again….could not get it to come out square, and if I did it was not square with the quilt…..was almost in tears when my hubby, former math teacher came along! After he tried to help a few minutes we decided the problem was the quilt was not laying square on the table.  Being partly quilted and batting under it made it lay a little off kilter. So out came the tape measure, and we measured diagonally across the quilt and shifted it till it was square! Then Kathleen came along and helped as well!  Three of us! We have two 4 x 36″ rulers in our store as well as a number of larger square up rulers.  We layed these all out so we could tell before we marked if things were square and square with the piecing!  It worked!  I wish I would have taken more pictures, but I did not think about it being a good tip till today!  Kathleen thought it was funny that it took three of us and many rulers to mark it, so she did have Rocky take a few pictures…..

So here is my advise…

1. Have a plan before you start!?😳😜

2. If you did not have a plan before you start, and need to mark large square things, do not be afraid to take the quilt off the frame!!! πŸ˜€πŸ€£πŸ˜‡

3. Make sure the quilt is laying square on the table! πŸ˜±πŸ€“

4. Use lots of rulers!  The longer the better, and pair them with square up rulers!! Line these rulers up with the piecing!😎

5. Use a water soluble pen to mark anything that needs to stay on for awhile!  πŸ’¦ πŸ’¦ πŸ’¦ 

6. Dividing up large negative space is a good way to handle that space! πŸ’‘πŸ’‘πŸ’‘

7. Never start a project just before leaving for a large quilting show!  πŸ˜œπŸ€”πŸ™ˆ
That’s it for today! Hoping to finish this quilt today!  πŸ€žπŸ€žπŸ€žπŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

(Having a little emoji obsession todayπŸ€—)

10 responses to “Keeping your Marking Square

  1. ArdelleI have really been enjoying your posts…
    I shared your butterfly the other day…many reposts! …put it in CQA 2018 so more quilters can enjoy pls!

  2. You have the best blog on longarm quilting I have found. So many tips and techniques. Just what I need. Thank you!

  3. Arielle, I love hearing about your aha moments, and I am so glad you are willing to share them with us. You are a rock star in my eyes!

  4. Thank you for sharing all f your great tips with us! I got the App You Doodle installed on my iPad2 and now I’m wondering what stylus you use with yours?. I don’t already have one and there are a couple mentioned in the info for the App, but wondered if others would work or if you have a specific one? Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

