Marking Even Rays


It’s Tuesday!  Time for another tip!  Today I will show you how I marked even rays where it was hard to find a way to mark them evenly. But first, as I write this tip, I am sitting in a hotel room in Utah!  We are in Utah for Spring Quilt Market later this week!  Taking a few days to see the beauty of the state while we are here! I have been sleeping, a lot…5 hours during the day yesterday and another 10 last night…guess things caught up to me a bit! Today we went to Bryce Canyon! Had a great walk in the canyon between two storms. Then on the drive back to our hotel, I slept again for an hour….


Anyways, back to the subject at hand.  I quilted a Feathered Star quilt for Birthe Skoberg last week.  I wanted to add some rays to an ack I quilted in but was having trouble spacing them evenly.  The trouble was the edge of the piece the acks were in was at an angle, so simply marking even increments on the outside did not space the rays evenly.  I often consult my hubby on things like this as he is a former math teacher.  But this time he was away, so I was on my own.  I kept thinking until I came up with a way.

First here is a picture of the quilt and a close up of the rays…


I have a video again, and very few pictures, so this time I will start with a link to the video. Click here for the link to the video.

Now that you have watched the video, let me say I made the template by using the same ruler I quilted the ark with to cut a piece of card stock. I then used a ruler to mark 1/2″ increments on the template.  I did not have a picture of the template, so I used the edit function to isolate it from the video, so not the greatest picture.
I then lined up this template with the ack and marked these marks on the quilt.  Then used a ruler to line up the point of this section to this new mark and I marked this line right on the quilt.


So glad I had the video with so few pictures and half a world away from home….

That is it, now back to some….sleeping?!  Yup, think I will sleep till market starts…..

Leave a Reply

