It’s All About Texture!!!! (Anne’s Paradise in Blooms)

It is no secret: I love texture!!! In fact I am almost obsessed with it!

So when I quilted this Paradise In Blooms quilt by Anne Hall, texture was my main focus. Anne wondered if coloured thread should be used on the big white petals to add interest. I decided to use texture instead. I wanted the quilting to accent her immaculate workmanship, not to distract from it. When Anne saw the picture she said, “Whoooooheeee! This is mine and I love it!” I guess my plan worked…..

I used texture to accent the triangles around the big circle….

 

I used texture to accent the center of the flower….

 

Like I said, it's all about texture…..

So how do I achieve texture? I use two battings, Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 on the bottom and Hobbs washable wool on the top. I use double straight lines 1/2″ apart to separate different areas or fills. I use a variety of contrasting fills. And I use quite dense quilting.

I was thrilled with the outcome! It is in the mail, on it's way back to Anne. Looking forward to her reaction the the real life quilt, when her reaction to pictures was so good! That is the best part of my job- my clients reactions! Oh gosh, I just love what I do……

 

5 responses to “It’s All About Texture!!!! (Anne’s Paradise in Blooms)

Leave a Reply

