Barb’s Pheonix Quilt

I finished quilting this quilt for Barb Leeb on Saturday.  It was so fun to quilt…. 

Once again I turned to Google for inspiration. According to Wikiepdia, A phoenix or phenix (Greek: φοῖνιξ phoinix) is a long-lived bird that is cyclically regenerated or reborn. Associated with the sun, a phoenix obtains new life by arising from the ashes of its predecessor. So I incorporated a design around the Pheonix that could be either a sun or fire.  Well for that matter, the sun is fire. This is my favourite part of the quilting…   

    

I repeated the flames in the next border, with a little ruler work(see photo below).

More flames in the diagonal stripes (see photos below)…

    

The bottom and top border have this funky feather…. 

And the same funky feathers in the side border… 

 

And some ruler work and more flames in the colourful squares…

We had to retake these photos and I forgot to take one of the back the second time.  Too bad, it looked cool….

I have not talked about my favorite planning tool for a while, and I have quite a few new followers, so I thought I would add that to this blog.  When I am planning the quilting on a quilt, I have several sheets of 18″ x 24″ plexiglass. I lay these on top of the quilt and draw my ideas using a dry erase marker.  It gives me a good idea of what my designs will,look like and I am practicing them at the same time.  Here are pictures of my plexiglass for this quilt… 

    

A word of caution: notice the blue tape around the edges of the plexiglass?  That is so I do not accidentally draw off the edge and onto the quilt!

I had a lot of fun planning and quilting this quilt, and I am very happy with the results.  Can’t wait to see Barb’s reaction!  Have I ever mentioned that I love what I do?

Leave a Reply

