Star Trek in a New York Beauty….

 
It’s Tuesday!  Today I am going to show you how I marked and executed the little “Star Trek” designs in a New York Beuty unit of a Glacier Star Quilt.  This quilt was pieced by Darlene Conroy and the pattern is from Quiltworx. 

1st what do I mean by a “Star Trek” unit?  Here it is….

 When I decided to use a design I have been calling the Star Trek  design in the spikes of a New York Beauty Unit, I decided to make the length on the Center Star Trek the longest and the others progressively smaller.  But how to mark it this? My curved rulers from Quilt Apothecary to the rescue!

I centred the ruler on the ark and put the edge on the 3rd mark on the ruler.  Then I used an air soluable pen to mark the Center point of the inside corner of the design.

  

Then I moved the ruler up lining up the last marking of the ruler on the curved edge, and again marked the Center of each spike. So easy…. 

  

Next I stitched across the block from the edge of the ark to the outer marked point.

 

And then I stitched back again, from the edge of the arks and thought the inside points.  Done!  Fast and easy…. 

 

Stay tuned, I should finish this quilt today!  A blog on the whole quilt will soon follow, and I have several more tutorials planned from designed used in this quilt…

So till later, I am back to my Milli.  By the way, have I ever mentioned how much I love what I do?!!!

3 responses to “Star Trek in a New York Beauty….

  1. Pingback: Darlene’s Glacier Star | Rose City Quilter·

  2. Pingback: New York Beauty Lace! | Rose City Quilter·

Leave a Reply

