Piecing Batting on a Longarm Frame!

IMG_3445

This tip is especially for LongArm/midarm quilters. It will happen to all of us at some time. That oh d{%}*+#^ moment, how did mess that up, I do not have enough batting and the quilt is loaded and mostly done….now what…..

Well, I am a little embarrassed to say it happens to me….too often….often enough I came up with a fix that I can do without taking the quilt off the frame! Here is what I do….

1. Advance quilt till batting lines up with backing bar. Trim batting parallel to roller , keeping as straight as possible. I mark with chalk and a long ruler.

IMG_0092

2. Cut light weight fusible interfacing into 2″ strips. I will use this to fuse a new piece of batting to the piece that is too short. There is a pre cut product on the market. I prefer to use fusible interfacing. I have trouble with the other product curling up when I fuse it. Plus I am cheep! It is much more cost effective to make your own. I cut up a meter at a time, it takes seconds and I am ready to go next time….

IMG_0093

3. Next I line up the new piece of batting, using pins to pin it to the rail, keeping the raw edges as close together as possible.

IMG_0094

IMG_0095

3. Next lay a strip on fusible interfacing centred on the seam. Make sure you have the glue side (bumpy side) next to batting.

IMG_0096

4. Now use an iron to fuse batting in place.

IMG_0097

IMG_0098

5. Your done! Continue quilting….

IMG_0099

2 responses to “Piecing Batting on a Longarm Frame!

Leave a Reply

