Feathers

Last week I quilted this gorgeous log cabin for Marilyn Murray. The fabric is from Northcott and is so elegant!

20121008-212103.jpg

Marilyn choose to use both cotton and wool batting. I love how this combination looks! The wool gives loft and the cotton adds stability.

Marilyn wanted feathers following the diagonal setting. We decided to quilt with cream thread in the light area and black thread in the darker strips.

20121008-212257.jpg

20121008-212305.jpg

I did a little feathered wreath in the star centres, and left the star poits with just stitch in the ditch, with the double batting, this allowed the points to puff up…

20121008-212632.jpg

In the inner border I stitched a feather border where the feathers alternate from one side of the spine to the other. 1st time I tried this and really liked it….

20121008-212830.jpg

In the outer border we decided feathers would detract from the floral fabric so I stitched this straight line pattern, which seems to frame the quilt very nicely…

20121008-213035.jpg

Just a quick shot of the back….

20121008-213107.jpg

Marilyn was very pleased, which is always my goal!

Did I ever mention I love what I do?! 🙂

One response to “Feathers

Leave a Reply

