Prairie Star

As well as the One Block Wonder I blogged about a few days ago, I also quilted a Prairie Star for Myrna Moline last week.

20120919-193345.jpg

Prairie Star is another Judy Neimeyer Pattern, and Myrna’s colors are fabulous! The only specification Myrna gave me was to not quilt it very dense. So, once again I started drawing ideas, using my plexiglas and dry erase pen. See my post Plexiglass, Dry Erase Markers and Imagination for more details: https://rosecityquilter.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/plexiglass-dry-erase-markers-and-imagination/

I did a LOT of drawing and was not happy with any of my ideas. Then I had to leave to go to an appointment with my Optrition. Of course he was running very late so I was looking at a magazine and saw a picture of an arch way and my mind lept back to Myrna’s quilt and I thought to myself I wonder if I found use that shape, and quilt it into the border. So here I am in the waiting room, inspired, but with no pen or paper, so I started playing with a drawing app on my phone, and by the time the Doctor called me in I had a plan!!! Here is how I quilted the border….

20120919-193421.jpg

20120919-193430.jpg

I like to repeat major design elements used in a quilt in other places, so I used the same idea in the caramel background….

20120919-193625.jpg

Next I decided to add a little swirly design in these spikes….

20120919-193937.jpg

And in the center I repeated the swirly design in the center, and added a sun like flourish in the cream background around the center….

20120919-194025.jpg

And last but not least I added my line dancing motif in the diamonds. I use this design a lot….

20120919-194311.jpg

Here’s a closer look, color not great in this photo…..

20120919-194358.jpg

I hope Myrna likes it, cause I sure do!

I am having a busy week and not getting any time to longarm till Friday. I am really missing it! Have I ever mentioned how much I LOVE WHAT I DO?!!!

Leave a Reply

