Inspired by the fabric and Angel Walters…

I had so much fun quilting this cute baby quilt made by Janice Steiner!

20120824-220702.jpg

I Took my inspiration from Angela Walters fabulous new book “Free Motion Quilting Modern Quilts.” I started with the braid, more specifically the square in the braid. I did this fun sun like design, purposefully off centering it….

20120824-221305.jpg

Then I put a different pattern in each braid….

20120824-221349.jpg

20120824-221358.jpg

20120824-221407.jpg

The large panel in the center stumped me for a short while, until a little light bulb came on. I took my inspiration from the fabric. 1st I randomly placed some large flowers in the panel that were inspired from little flowers in the fabric. Then I stitched wavy parallel lines, until I came to a flower. At the flower I echoed the flower…

20120824-222026.jpg

In the borders I choose this fun little design….

20120824-222111.jpg

So glad Janice loves to make baby quilts, as she brings me such fun things to play on!

By the way, have I ever mentioned I Love what I do?

3 responses to “Inspired by the fabric and Angel Walters…

  1. I love Angela Walters style designs. I recently purchased her book and plan to use her ideas in my FMQ using my Bernina550/Sweet Sixteen as well as in my longarm quilting. Isn’t it great to work with new concepts?

Leave a Reply

