Hop to it!

I finished this quilt about a year ago, and it is a favorite of mine. I was not blogging at the time, and decided I really wanted to add this to my blog…

It is from the Laundry Basket Quilt book, Hop to It.  I have really become a fan of  Edyta Sitar, the designer behind Laundry Basket Quilts.  When I was stitching the applique on this quilt, I used lots of different decorative stitches from my sewing machine.  I often changed the stitch width and length of a stitch to get a new look.  I used the stitches to give texture to the applique pieces.

When I quilted the quilt, I stitched in the ditch around all applique pieces and then filled the backgrounds in with a different fill in each block.

In the outer border I quilted piano keys (parallel lines the resemble the keys of a piano).  In the next border I used a technique I learned in a class from Karen McTavish that is called McTavishing.  I love the texture this technique gives.

In the diamonds I quilted a design referred to as line dancing.  It is so fun to stitch!

Until next time, take care my quilting friends….

4 responses to “Hop to it!

Leave a Reply

